Peterlee'es Dene School win East Durham College maths challenge

Dene School Crowned Top Maths Whizzes

Wed, 2015-03-25 18:33

Today teams of budding mathematicians took part in this year’s annual East Durham Schools Maths Challenge 2015.

The event, which took place on Wednesday 25th March at East Durham College’s Peterlee Campus, saw 9 teams of four battle it out for top mathematical honours.

The teams which took part were from Apollo Studio Academy, Dene Community School, Easington Academy, Seaham School and The Academy at Shotton Hall.

Presided over by East Durham College governor Fred Harrison, the Year 10 and 11 students took part in six fiercely competed rounds, which included a mix of maths questions and problem solving tasks.

Dene Community School prevailed with an impressive winning score of 43 points in a tight contest finishing just three points ahead of runners-up Easington Academy with 40 points.

The winning team from Dene were Year 10 pupils Callum Joe-Mawson and Kyle Edwards and Year 11 pupils Brandan Calvert and Michael Douglas, who said they were ‘delighted’ and ‘surprised’ to win the trophy.

Suzanne Duncan, Principal at East Durham College, who presented the trophies, added: “Now in its 31st year, the schools maths challenge is always an outstanding event, and we have had another great competition again today.

“The maths challenge is a great way to help instil the spirit of competition and teamwork, but also brings some fun to this incredibly important subject.

“I’m delighted with the enthusiasm the students have shown and the judges were very impressed with their academic knowledge and ability to use their initiative.

“Congratulation to the winners and everybody who took part.”