Dene School Wins 2012 East Durham Maths Challenge

Tue, 10/07/2001 - 01:00

The event, which took place on Wednesday 28th March in The Lubetkin Theatre at East Durham College’s Peterlee Campus, saw 9 teams of 4 from local East Durham Schools competing for top honours.

The teams taking part were from St. Bedes, Dene, Easington, Seaham and Shotton Hall secondary schools.

The Year 10 and 11 students took part in six fiercely competed rounds, which included a mix of maths questions and problem solving tasks.

The pupils were also challenged to construct a crane in the ‘Crane-Teaser’ round. They were given a bag of mystery items including items such as kebab skews, potatoes, string and sticky tape and they had to build the crane so it could suspend a cream egg.

The scores were nip and tuck all the way, but eventually Dene School’s A-Team prevailed with a winning score of 52 points. The runners-up were Seaham School of Technology’s B-Team with 46 points.

The winning team from Dene was Year 11 pupils; Rebecca Walters, Courtney Graham, Jordan Birt and James Hyde, and said they were ‘delighted’ and ‘surprised’ to win the trophy.

Mr Sowerby, Assistant Director of Learning at Dene and the team’s maths teacher, said: “I’m not shocked but very pleased and proud that the team won. They are part of a wonderful class who are a complete joy to teach. I’m delighted that they managed to win the trophy for Dene. Well done.”

Sally Hudson, Vice Principal at East Durham College, who presented the trophies, added: “The Maths Challenge is a great way to help instil the spirit of completion and teamwork. I’m delighted with the enthusiasm the students have shown and the judges were very impressed with their academic knowledge and ability to use their initiative”.