East Durham College Annual Student Awards 2009

Wed, 23/02/2000 - 00:00

The annual East Durham College Student Awards were held on 25th June 2009 and over 300 staff, students, family and friends attended the ceremony.


The event which included; a delicious three course meal, prepared by the student, a number of fantastic musical and dance performances, also by students, and the prize giving, was expertly compered by Performing Arts students, Francesca Foster and Kieran Rowe.


College Principal and Chief Executive, Ian Prescott said of the event, “Over the years many things have changed in and around the College, but one thing that will never change is the high level of achievement from our students. Tonight is for those students who have demonstrated that they have that special something that makes their achievements worthy of celebration. We believe that success comes not just with one single act of determination, but by pursuing your dreams throughout the year. The students we see here tonight show us that with ambition, dedication and the courage to succeed anything is possible.”


A touch of extra glamour was also added to the evening by the guest of honour, actor, Chris Fountain. Chris is best known for playing Justin Burton in Channel 4’s Hollyoaks. This was his first major TV role, which he has played since 2003. Chris went on to win the 'Best Actor' category for this role at the 2008 British Soap Awards.


Chris has also starred in the BBC’s reality singing contest 'Just the Two of Us'. And in 2008, Chris wowed TV audiences of millions with his ice skating on ITV's 3rd series of 'Dancing on Ice' when he was runner up to Suzanne Shaw.


The new Mayor and Mayoress of Peterlee were also in attendance, Chris and Jean Metcalfe.


The prestigious Student of the Year award was also announced on the night and the honour went to Jacob Baker, from Houghton-le-Spring. Jacob was described by his tutor, Bernadette Pearson, as being “Mature, extremely conscientious, a good leader and motivator and always pleasant and polite.”


Jacob is studying on a demanding BTEC National Diploma in Sport and Exercise Science as well as an A Level in PE. And if that wasn’t enough, he also at one point had two part-time jobs! But this isn’t the only reason he was selected as Student of the Year, Jacob was also chosen for his outstanding achievements in Karate.


To date Jacob has won Regional, National and European Championships and came 3rd in the World Championships. He is a second Dan Black Belt and we look forward to seeing him compete at London 2012.


To finish off the night, a special award was presented to Ian Williams, Chair for the board of Governors, for 20 years loyal service to East Durham College.


Full List of Student Award Winners:


Student of the Year – Jacob Baker
A Level Award - Aimee Bilham
Beauty Therapy Award - Katherine Cartwright
Salon Direct Award for Hairdressing - Gemmalee Forster
Catering Award - Dawn Dixon
Carpentry & Joinery Award - Omkahr Singh
Painting & Decorating Award - Daniel Pring
Darren Coxon Memorial Trophy for Brickwork - Daniel Armstrong
Engineering Award - Ben Wayne Purvis

Gas Installation Award - Ian Wright
Electrical Installation Award - Corey Short
Arboriculture Award - Julie Smith
New Row Farm Nursery Award for Horticulture - Gavin Horniblow
Malcolm Stewart Award for Animal Care - Beata Wilczynska
Steetley Minerals Award for Equestrian Studies - Rachel Lumsden
Howick Hall Gardens Award for Floristry - Sabrina Antoniuk
Land Based Foundation Award - Daniel Lynn
Land Based Operations Award - Matthew Gretton
David Stephinson Memorial Award for Foundation Studies - Jessica Saige
Health & Social Care Award - Heather Bailes
Nursery Nursing Award - Stacey Benton
Information Technology Award - Daniel Green
Uniformed/Public Services Award - Paul Griffiths
Durham County Council Art Award - Nicola Ann Gibson

Chris Cowey Award for Performing Arts - Kelsey Douglas

The Rye Award for Original Music - Jamie Hobkirk

University of Sunderland Access to Higher Education Award - Carole Hesp

University of Sunderland Higher Education Award - Paul Fisher

Sports Council Award - Jacob Baker
Male Boxer of the Year - Declan Fusco
Female Boxer of the Year - Caroline Dent
Male Footballer of the Year - Jonathan Monaghan
Female Footballer of the Year - Amy Pratt
Male Rugby Player of the Year - Mark Fahey-Sones
Apprentice of the Year - Amos Parkes
Durham County Council Training Award - Rebecca Honour
Work Based Learning Award - Chris Bains
Work Based Learning Award - Jodie Carr
Essential Skills Award - Michael Cahill
Student Union Award - Samantha Ashcroft
Peterlee Town Council Youth Project Award - Bilkis Jahan
Pride Community Award - Antony McAndrew

Personal Achievement Award - Mavis Urwin
Lifetime Learner Award - Irvine Charlton