Annual Student Awards 2010

Sun, 09/07/2000 - 01:00

The prestigious East Durham College Annual Student Awards ceremony was held last night.

The awards event was held at the College’s Peterlee Campus and attended by over 300 people; including the 57 winning students with their family and friends, College staff and governors, the Mayors of Peterlee and Seaham plus other local dignitaries.

An extra touch of rock glamour was added to the evening by special guest Jamie Archer, of X Factor fame, who presented the winners with their awards and also performed at the event.

Jamie Archer said: “I’m delighted to be here to take part in your awards event and congratulations to all of tonight’s winners.

“Whatever route you decide to take in life, whatever your ambition, don’t give up, keep believing in you dream, if it comes from the heart you will succeed.”

The prestigious Student of the Year award was also announced on the night and went to James Okello, aged 21, who is studying on the Foundation Degree in Sport at the College. He also won the Higher Education Award sponsored by the University of Sunderland.

Gill Hulme, Programme Leader for Sport & Leisure at the College, remarked: “James came to the College from Haringey in London to join the Basketball Development Centre and has been with us for almost 5 years. A nicer lad you could not wish to meet.

“He is one of the best students I have every taught during my 36 years in the profession. He’s definitely in my top 5 best students I’ve ever taught.”

James commented: “I’m so pleased. I’ve never won an award before! I left school with only a couple of GCSEs but with the help of the great staff at the College and some hard graft I have managed to work my way through the levels and complete the Foundation Degree in Sport.”

James will now go on for a final year at the University of Sunderland to complete his full honours degree. James would then like to pursue his ambition of a career as a sports lecturer.

College Principal and CEO, Mr Stuart Wesselby, told the audience: “Tonight is a night to celebrate not only the achievements of the learners receiving these special awards but also to acknowledge the parents and carers - as well as the many college staff who have helped in contributing to this group of learners.

“The students here tonight have demonstrated that they each have something special that makes their achievements worthy of an award. Well done and congratulations from all of us here at East Durham College, hope you enjoyed the evening – you’ve earned it.”

Full List of Student Award Winners:

A Level Award - Rachel Keers
Creative Arts Award - Katie-Anne Soar
Beauty Therapy Award - Charlotte Rispin
Sally Salon Services Award for Hairdressing - Samantha Jayne Cope
Health & Social Care Award - Louise Gammon
Childcare Award - Bethany Roberts
Media Award - Josh Adamson
Performing Arts Award - Michael Coulson
Darren Coxon Memorial Award for Brickwork - Tony Little
Hancock Tools Ltd Carpentry & Joinery Award - Brett Peacock
Painting & Decorating Award - Christopher Roe
IET Award for Engineering - Jak Willoughby
Engineering Award - David Worthington
Roof Slating & Tiling Award - Darren Sedman
Accent Training Award - Declan Gregory
Construction Plastering Trophy - Lewis Taylor
Construction Wall & Floor Tiling Trophy - Keely Parkin
Electrical Installation Award - Liam Hamilton
Gas Installation Award - Luke Elves
Plumbing Award Dale Harvey
Business Administration Award - Kieran Proudfoot
Information Technology Award - James Gilroy
Travel & Tourism Award - Rebecca Stephenson
Catering Award - Lauren Fenwick
Uniformed/Public Services Award - Alison Parsley
Sports Award - Liam Anderson
University of Sunderland Access to HE Award - Stephanie Marie Bate
University of Sunderland Higher Education Award - James Okello
Animal Care Award - Danielle Whitley
Equestrian Studies Award - Rachel Williams
Floristry Award - Regina Jackson
Horticulture Award - Christopher Parsons
Arboriculture Award - Andrew John Hogan
Land Based Foundation Award - Melissa Archbold
Land Based Operations Award - Emma Dixon
Essential Skills Award - Elizabeth Parker
David Stephinson Memorial Award for Foundation Studies - Gemma Neal
Dancer of the Year - Zoe Lancaster
Basketball Player of the Year - Karzan Mohammed
Female Boxer of the Year - Rachael Harle
Boxer of the Year - Paul Archer
Rugby Player of the Year - Richard Walsh
Female Footballer of the Year - Laura Wilson
Male Footballer of the Year - Matthew Lovett
Entry to Employment Award - Scott Day
Work Based Learning Award (Administration) - Victoria Farn
Work Based Learning Award (Equine) - Beth Quinn
Sones Work Based Learning Award for Horticulture - James Joy
NCFE Learner Award - Dennis Turner
Community Award - Geoffrey Maddison
Youth Project Award - Liam Robinson
Work Focused Training Award - George Parkin
Lifetime Learner Award - Ann Peel
Personal Achievement Award - Julie Armstrong
vTalent Award - Michaela Donoghue
Student Union Award - Francesca Foster
Learner Voice Award - Chantelle Robinson