EDC Student Awards Event Has The X Factor

Sat, 2001-02-10 00:00

The prestigious East Durham College Annual Student Awards ceremony was held last night.

The event took place at the College’s Peterlee Campus and was attended by over 300 people; including the 65 award winners with their family and friends, staff and governors, the Mayors of Peterlee and Seaham plus other local dignitaries.

An extra touch of glamour was added to the evening by special guest Katie Waissel, of X Factor fame, who presented the winners with their awards and also performed at the event.

Katie said: “I’m thrilled to be here. I went to a college so it is a real privilege to present these awards. Keep working hard and remember knowledge is power!”

The Student of the Year was also announced on the night and went to Tanya Shires, aged 18 from Newton Aycliffe, who studies sports at the College.

Despite getting up at 5:15 every morning and taking two busses to get to college, she has achieved 97% attendance. She also stays behind after lessons to coach a local East Durham Under 8s boys’ football team, sometimes not getting home until 10:30pm. She even gives up her Saturday mornings to manage the team in their competitive games in Sunderland.

Craig Shields, Programme Leader for Sport at the College, remarked: “Throughout her 2 years her Tanya has been has been a superb example of what you can achieve with hard work and self discipline.

“In addition to her hectic schedule, she has also performed superbly throughout her academic course. Tanya attitude and application are superb.

“She has been a pleasure to teach and the sports department feels very lucky that she has decided to stay with the College for the next 2 years after being accepted on to the Foundation Degree in Sports Coaching. Well done.”

Also amongst the winners was Avalon Lovell-Jones, wife of ex-Sunderland Footballer Kenwyne Jones, who picked up the University of Sunderland sponsored Access to Higher Education Award and was also short-listed for Student of the Year.

Avalon said: “It’s amazing to be given an award. I found out I was pregnant shortly after I started the course and thought I would have to give up. But my lecturers helped convince me I could do it. It’s really thanks to them and all their support that I completed the course and was able to get this award.”

After having the baby, Avalon plans to apply to university to study psychology.

College Principal and CEO, Mr Stuart Wesselby, told the audience: “Tonight is a night to celebrate not only the achievements of the learners receiving these special awards but also to acknowledge the parents and carers - as well as the many college staff who have helped in contributing to this group of learners.

“The students here tonight have demonstrated that they each have something special that makes their achievements worthy of an award. Well done and congratulations from all of us here at East Durham College.”

Full List of Student Award Winners: 

Award Category    
Creative Arts Award Rachael Marsh
Beauty Therapy Award Julie Curry
Sally Salon Services Award for Hairdressing Claire Jenkinson
Barbering Award Ken Ball
Health & Social Care Award Rebecca Griffiths
Media Award Liam Andrew Spence
Music & Performing Arts Award Daniel Williams
Darren Coxon Memorial Award for Brickwork David Gourley
Hancock Tools Carpentry & Joinery Award Les Cooper
Painting & Decorating Award Kirsty Huntington
Accent Training Award Mark Gascoyne
Plastering Award Scott Day
Wall & Floor Tiling Award Adam Spence
Electrical Installation Award Luke Wellburn
Gas Installation Award Thomas Price
Fitted Interiors Award Pamela Moore
Business Award Richard Copeland
Information Technology Award Paul Halliday
Travel & Tourism Award Fay Gorton
Catering Award John David Middleton
Uniformed/Public Services Award Steven Molyneux
Sports Award Tanya Shires
University of Sunderland Access to HE Award Avalon Lovell-Jones
Initial teacher Training Award David Kirton
University of Sunderland Higher Education Award Kelly Flounders
Animal Care Award Grant Reynolds
Equestrian Studies Award Elisabeth Parry
Floristry Award Victoria Tilder
Arboriculture Award Warren Bearpark
Land Based Foundation Award Louis Welch
Land Based Operations Award Peter Bell
Functional Skills Award David Kennedy
David Stephinson Memorial Award for Foundation Studies Michelle Borewell
Dancer of the Year Nadine Alicia Frost
Female Boxer of the Year Rachael Harle
Boxer of the Year Jake Slater
Rugby Player of the Year Mark Hendry
Female Footballer of the Year Tanya Shires
Male Footballer of the Year Kyle Morris
Steps to Success Award Lauranne Clark
Work Based Learning Award for Administration Victoria Smith
Work Based Learning Award - Construction, Engineering, Manufacture & Warehousing Jonathon Gott
Sones Work Based Learning Award for Horticulture Jordan Patterson
Work Based Learning Award for Agriculture Tyler Foster
V Talent Award Ruth Walton
Youth Project Award Louis Dowse
Lifetime Learner Award Maureen Collings
Personal Achievement Award Pauline Grant
Students' Union Award Ryan O'Toole
Group Award Thomas Atherton
Terri-Louise Barrass
Hannah Corkhill
Katie Craggs
Katie Dickson
Heidi Dixon
Chelsea Garner
Sophie Kenney
Lauren Manley
Graham Marks
Stephanie Richardson
Toni Robinson
Willow Schroder
Ashleigh Speckman
Rachael Tempest
Rebecca Williams